Domestic violence can be charged in a number of different ways in Oklahoma.
Regardless of the details of the charges, however, it is vital to have on your side a dedicated criminal defense attorney with experience in domestic violence cases.
Norman, Oklahoma criminal defense attorney Jacqui Ford knows that the system can sometimes be rigged. That’s why she works with clients to fight back against their charges. If you’ve been charged with domestic violence, here’s what you need to know.
~ Timothy L.
Domestic Violence in Norman, Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, domestic violence charges are different from simple assault and battery charges depending on who’s involved.
For domestic violence charges, there has to be some sort of relationship between the victim and the accused. This even extends to someone who’s currently living in a house, even if there’s no familial relationship.
This is because domestic abuse requires some sort of pre-existing relationship before the crime occurs. These relationships could include:
- former spouse
- some sort of foster parent
- some sort of blood relative
- relative by marriage
- parent of a mutual child, etc.
What Else Do I Need to Know About Domestic Violence Charges in Norman, Oklahoma?
Sometimes when people are charged with domestic violence, the person who accused them also files for a victim protective order, commonly known as a restraining order.
In Oklahoma, an emergency victim protective order may be assigned at the scene of the arrest. However, this protective order would only be temporary, but a first offense for violating a protective order is still charged as a misdemeanor. A second or subsequent VPO violation is a felony charge that carries a punishment range of 1 to 3 years in prison and a max fine of up to $10,000.00.
Additionally, many defendants facing domestic violence charges in Oklahoma are encouraged to go through a Batterer’s Intervention Program, often referred to as BIP.
Some defendants enroll in this program early on in their case in an attempt to secure a more favorable plea deal, but sometimes the program is mandated by the court. It’s important that attendees show up to the course in order for the program to help with your case or probation agreement. If you violate the terms mandated by the court, you may have to start the course again or face other consequences, as well.