Skip to main content

Been in an “alcohol related incident?” Here’s what to KNOW

By May 8, 2018April 2nd, 2024No Comments

Whether it’s stumbling around and being loud and boisterous, or making the irresponsible decision to get behind the wheel of a car, there can be serious consequences for your behavior if you’ve had too much to drink.

Did you know you can be arrested for public intoxication even if you aren’t actually drunk? If you are acting drunk and disorderly in public, sometimes that’s all it takes for you to be handcuffed and facing a public intoxication charge.


What is public intoxication?

Public intoxication is typically a misdemeanor charge for people who are acting drunk and disorderly in public. This could include yelling, using profanities, stumbling around, or just generally being disruptive to those around you, i.e. disturbing the peace.

Police officers in Oklahoma can opt to take you into protective custody or to a treatment facility instead of arresting you for public intoxication. These scenarios are more likely to happen if you are a threat to yourself or those around you. Law enforcement can also opt to do both; arrest you and take you into protective custody.

In Oklahoma, the following penalties are possible if you are convicted of public intoxication:

  • Five to thirty days in jail
  • A $100 to $500 fine


What happens if you get a DUI in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma has some of the toughest criminal laws in the country, and DUIs are no exception.

In Oklahoma, you can be arrested for a DUI if any of the following conditions are met:

  • You are 21 or older and your BAC (blood alcohol concentration) is .08 percent or more.
  • You are younger than 21 years old and you have any measurable amount of alcohol in your system.
  • You register a .04 percent BAC and have a CDL (commercial driver’s license).

If you are stopped by a police officer who suspects you are operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you will be asked to take a breathalyzer test. If you refuse to take the test, your driver’s license will be revoked. Without an attorney to help get your license back, your driving privileges could be taken away for months, or even years.

Unlike some states, in Oklahoma, you can be punished for having a BAC of .05 percent to .08 percent. You can end up with a suspended driver’s license, along with a fine of up to $500 and up to six months in jail.


What are the penalties for DUI in Oklahoma?

In Oklahoma, a first-offense DUI (with a BAC of .08 percent or more), can result in the following:

  • 10 days to one year in jail.
  • A fine of up to $2,500.
  • Suspended license for up to six months.

If you get convicted of a DUI for a second time within 10 years of your first one, it becomes a felony charge that could result in the following:

  • One to seven years in prison
  • A fine of up to $5,000.

Third and subsequent offenses could land you in prison for up to 10 years, with fines of up to $5,000.

Alcohol-related crimes in Oklahoma need to be taken seriously as they can have profound consequences on your life. The help of an experienced criminal defense attorney can help you navigate the legal system and handle alcohol related charges. Contact Jacqui Ford’s office today for help.