Oklahoma Pot Laws
Compared to other states Oklahoma has some of the harshest penalties for drug charges. In fact, Oklahoma ranked number one on the list of 5 worst states to get busted with pot. There have been several cases in which people received extremely harsh sentences for minor pot possession.
Patricia Marilyn Spottedcrow
In 2005 a 25-year-old woman was arrested for selling $31 worth of pot to an undercover police informant. That woman, Patricia Marilyn Spottedcrow, was later sentenced to 12 years in jail and fined $2,740.
In another case, Jimmy Montgomery was caught with 2 oz of pot and was originally sentenced with life in prison. His sentence was later dropped to 10 years.
Punishments for Pot
Your punishment for possession of pot in Oklahoma will mainly depend on the amount of pot you’re caught with and if it’s your first offense. If it’s your first offence will face a misdemeanor charge and up to a year in jail. For a second offense you could face felony charges with 2-10 years in jail and $5,000 in fines.
In Oklahoma “controlled dangerous substances” (CDS) are categorized into “schedules.” The CDS are grouped according to the severity of the drug.
Schedule I and II include drugs like meth, cocaine and heroin. These drugs carry more severe felony penalties than pot. First offense will cost you up to $5,000 in fines and 2-5 years in jail. Second offense is 4-20 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.
Intent to Distribute
If the prosecution feels you were caught with enough pot to distribute, your situation just got a lot worse. In Oklahoma a possession with intent to distribute could carry a life sentence.
With such harsh penalties for drug charges in Oklahoma it is so important to contact an Oklahoma criminal defense attorney if you are arrested. Jacqui Ford has made a career fighting for her clients. If you’re facing drug charges call Jacqui and she will be with you through the entire process from start to finish.