Oklahoma Drug Possession Laws
Every state has different rules and regulations about controlled dangerous substances (CDS). Oklahoma drug possession laws are different from most other states because Oklahoma not only considers drugs like pot, crack and meth to be a CDS, but also the ingredients used to make drugs.
Oklahoma drug possession laws break down CDS into five categories, known as “schedules.” These five schedules rank CDS on a scale of how dangerous and addictive each CDS is known to be. Schedule I CDS are considered to be incredibly dangerous and addictive, and have no medical value.
Each schedule will carry different penalties. These penalties increase in severity, schedule V being the lowest and schedule I being the highest.
For a first time possession of a schedule I or II CDS you could face up to a $5,000 fine and a minimum of two years in prison, with a maximum of five years. A second offense will get you a $10,000 fine and between 4-20 years in prison.
Penalties for a first time possession of a schedule III, IV, or V CDS carries a sentence of a $1,000 fine and or a year in jail. If you are convicted a seconded time you could be fined up to $5,000 and spend 2-10 years in prison.
Being caught with any CDS near a school, public park or in the presence of anyone under the age of 12 will double the jail time and fine amount of the above described sentences.
If you have been charged of possession a CDS in Oklahoma using an experienced Oklahoma drug lawyer can greatly increase your odds of getting a lesser sentence. Jacqui Ford will skillfully and aggressively represent your CDS case.