Sex crimes in Oklahoma are treated with the utmost seriousness. Sex crimes charges necessitate the immediate assistance of a talented and experienced sex crimes attorney. If you are found guilty of a sex crime, you will face imprisonment, fines and a damaged reputation. You will have to register as sex offender for the remainder of your life. Sex offender status limits where you can live and work. However, the average person does not know what, exactly, constitutes a sex crime in Oklahoma. Here is an inside look at the acts our state considers to be sex crimes.
The Many Different Types of Sex Crimes
There is a common misconception that rape is the sole sex crime on the books in Oklahoma and beyond. In reality, there are numerous sex crimes punishable by Oklahoma and federal law. Aside from rape and sexual assault, engaging in the act of prostitution and soliciting a prostitute also constitute sex crimes. Child molestation, indecent exposure and the possession, making or distribution of child pornography are also sex crimes.
For the most part, the vast majority of Oklahoma sex crimes are serious felonies that have the potential to spur significant fines and a multi-year prison sentence. However, it is possible for some of the charges detailed above, such as prostitution, to be charged as a misdemeanor. It is also important to note internet sex crimes are also punished quite severely in Oklahoma. Everything from soliciting a minor for sex or nude images on the web to sexting and making an indecent or lewd proposal to a minor over the web qualify as internet sex crimes punishable by law.
Teen Sex Crimes in the State of Oklahoma
Oklahoma law rarely distinguishes between sex crimes committed by minors and adults age 18 or older. For the most part, if the act in question is illegal for an adult, it is also illegal for a minor. However, there are some exceptions. As an example, statutory rape exceptions exist. The age of sexual consent in the state of Oklahoma is 16. Consider a situation in which an adult over the age of 18 agrees to have sex with an individual who is 14-years-old and has not yet reached the age required for legal consent. Such an adult will be charged with statutory rape, also known as second degree rape. Oklahoma state law precludes the filing of rape charges against an individual 18 years of age or younger who engages in consensual sex with an individual over the age of 14.
It is important to note some acts of rape are classified as first degree rape independent of the aggressor’s age. As an example, first degree rape charges are applied in instances of forcible rape, rape performed with instrumentation that causes significant bodily harm and rape of an individual incapable of providing his or her legal consent due to an unsound mind or mental illness. Aside from first degree rape, additional sex offense charges a juvenile can face include forcible sodomy, lewd molestation, rape by instrumentation, attempted rape, second degree rape, child rape or the rape of a minor younger than the age of 14, .
Felonies and Misdemeanors
The bulk of Oklahoma sex crimes are prosecuted as felonies and spur mandatory sex offender registration after conviction. Prostitution and public indecency are commonly charged as misdemeanors. However, sexual assault, rape and all sex crimes against children are charged as felonies. These felonies are punishable by years in prison or even life in prison and lifelong sex offender registration. If you or your child are labeled as a sex offender, life will become incredibly difficult in a number of regards. Sex offender status limits your career opportunities as well as your ability to live in a specific part of town.
Our Sex Crimes Attorneys are Here to Help
If you or your teen/tween have been charged with a sex crime, you should know the stakes are high. Let us review the details of your particular case and build a custom-tailored legal defense. Contact us today to schedule an initial consultation.